Making Changes in Writing Routine

Finding a proper writing workplace, proper goals, and, most important, a proper attitude can be a challenge. Some people can write in the midst of a bustling family life. Some people eke out fifteen minutes throughout the day to write while stuck in traffic or while the baby naps—whenever they find the time.

Some people have the drive necessary to keep going, no matter the obstacles.

Unlike me.

I need a place of solitude in which I can hear my own thoughts. A place I can organize my days, weeks, and months.

I’ve decided home is not the best place for me to do these things. There’s a place only five minutes from my home where I am free from all distractions, including the internet. I have a table where I can spread out all my material. I have electricity and a roof over my head.

Everything I need. Writers don’t need much to write.

Sometimes I wish we did. Like an artist with his array of brushes, canvases, and other supplies. I like the idea of having a case to open, sort of like a treasure chest. And from it withdraw the tools needed to create.

All we need nowadays is a computer and our fingers.

Of course, we can gather up materials if we want to create a story board or a collage. But actually our needs are simple.

And a simpler technology is to use pen and paper. I used to think I was more creative with pen and paper, but now I’ve gotten used to pounding out words on the keyboard. And it saves the trouble of of transcribing my horrible writing. Cuts out the middle man. Saves time. Saves paper. Saves me from writer’s cramp. (Now I just have to worry about carpal tunnel syndrome.)

Needing only a laptop gives us the freedom to seek out the new places.

I’m giving this place a try

. 019

Day One–I managed to write seven hundred words in an hour and a half. I did have to do a little research—looked up some scriptures in the Bible. I plan to work for six hours. I think it’s possible I could write five hundred words an hour; three thousand words a day. That would be sixty thousand words a month. Possible and I have accomplished that during National Novel Writing Month. But I think I will set a goal of two thousand words a day; ten thousand words a week; forty thousand words a month. I like to accomplish my goals and I don’t want to set myself up for failure.

Day Two I spent working out kinks in Microsoft Word 2007. I still managed to get quite a bit accomplished—much more than I would have at home.

Time for me to roll up my sleeves for Day Three and “dig my wells.”

What changes have you made in your routine? How have the changes helped you? Have you found a quiet place to write, free from distractions?

6 thoughts on “Making Changes in Writing Routine

  1. I’m one of those who can work amidst chaos. My mind is able to block out distractions. I don’t know how else I would manage since I homeschool four kids under the age of ten.

  2. I have written at work (don’t tell anyone; LOL) at home I set either in our home office with my wife either doing taxes or playing games with crazy sound effects beside me or at my new location at the kitchen table looking out our back windows. I usually have either talk radio or rock music blasting (depending on what I’m writing, two big dogs wanting attention, and my cell phone ringing. and my editor can’t figure out why it sometimes takes me a while to get her what she needs? Figure that. But it is, somehow, how I do it and it works for me.

Leave a Reply

